??!

Reviews

4.6

5,585 reviews
5
(4,580)
4
(612)
3
(24)
2
(37)
1
(332)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (35)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (24)
  • Customer Service
    2.6 (37)
  • Booking Process
    3.5 (31)
  • Vehicle Condition
    3.1 (30)
  • Received Booked Vehicle
    • Yes (22)
    • No, I received a worse vehicle (13)
    • No, I received a better vehicle (2)
Previous
Next

Over Charge and poor customer service

published

We waited nearly 30 minutes at Gold coast airport for their shuttle to arrive.. and after few weeks of rental they charged me $75 just for forwarding a parking fine. I will never use them again..how on earth you charge #75 just for forwarding a parking fine.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Farid Uddin

Farid UddinSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dishonest and poor customer service.

published

We went to Melbourne to attend a business meeting and hired a car from East Coast through Jetstar Airlines. We used around 120-130 KM, we were in the rush to catch our return flight and did not fill the fuel as its a matter of a couple of litres. When we returned the car they claimed 33 litres, $111 for fuel. We denied to pay and went to a nearby fuel station, it took 7 litres petrol around $11 to fill the tank. A lady (Vicky) in the customer service even did not say sorry and her reaction seemed its a normal matter. Dishonest and poor customer service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeHolden Equinox EQ
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hello Farid!
Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken with our Melbourne Airport Manager and she has informed me it was miscommunicated, and it was mistaken by our employee. We do apologise for the inconvenience of human error.

Farid Uddin
Farid Uddin

What do you mean by miscommunication? Your employee checked in the computer, prepared invoice and claimed me the fake amount. She did not even say sorry. What do you mean by human error????

Megan W.

Megan W.South East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Great rates, friendly staff.

published

Recently hired from the Adelaide airport (Richmond) and cannot fault them.
The shuttle from airport was prompt, the staff were very friendly and informative. The car was clean and in great condition. We booked a 7 seater and got a Hyuandai iLoad. The fuel economy was a nice surprise. I was concerned their lower rates would mean low quality cars and service but I was impressed with it all. Our destination was 2 hours out of Adelaide so the unlimited mileage was a big plus.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeHyundai iLoad TQ-V (2008-Present)
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hello Megan.
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it! I'll be sure to pass this onto our Adelaide Airport and I can confirm they'll be very grateful for your kind words.

Kind Regards, Katelin.

Car Hire Services

Find out how East Coast Car Rentals compares to other Car Hire Services

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dianne D

Dianne DSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Disgusting staff

published

When I had a problem with my rental car and rang Lloyd at Eastcoast Car Rental he told me to f*&%k off. Disgusting service. Will never use this company again. I work in accommodation and now tell all our guests not to use this East Coast Car Rentals. Lloyd you lost yourself thousand of dollars a year through your bad attitude. Car was filthy and half full when picked up. Found syringe under seat.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeToyota Camry
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Wisey

Wisey

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad from start to finish.

published

Pickup from Sydney afer nearly 1hour, no apologies or excesses We left the airport traffic was light !!!!! Then on arrival at car pickup asked to pay $1000 deposit before you could take a car if you did not take out their insurance!!! It was almost blackmail !!! When we went back to drop car off the service was just as bad .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeToyota Corolla
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Disappointed customer

Disappointed customerNorthern Region, NSW

DO NOT HIRE FROM THIS COMPANY

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi there.
Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it. This matter was brought to our attention on Sunday and we are investigating this matter further. We are awaiting feedback from our Sydney Airport Manager regarding this response.

Hi Katelin,
I took this complaint to the head office. I initially received a response saying it was being further investigated however upon trying to get an update on the progress of my complaint I have received no further contact.

Rahmanul R.

Rahmanul R.Northern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Commendable service

published

The service which we got in Melbourne airport was too good. The shuttle arrived in time to pick us up, the car was ready when we got there, everything was perfect. But we got the total opposite service at Sydney airport.

2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi Rahmanul.
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were happy with our customer service in Melbourne. Can you please contact us on [email protected] regarding the service you were presented at Sydney Airport.

Rahmanul R.
Rahmanul R.

Hi Katelin. Email sent.

Cheap for a reason. Ends up expensive

published

Getting car took ages. Booked hyundai i20 and got Kia Rio. Not sure if i20 would have been better but the car was terrible. Dirty. Clutch sucked and (despite usually driving manual daily) we stalled several times. They charge extra $4 fee on top of each toll you pay. Airport drop-off not near airport and you have to be early to make sure you will get to terminal on time

Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeKia Rio
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Ken

KenSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified customer

Prepare for the hard up-sell

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Booking Process
2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Ken
Ken
Car Hire Services

Find out how East Coast Car Rentals compares to other Car Hire Services

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul M

Paul Mtraveller

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent experience

published

I was nervous because of the bad reviews but my experience at the Hendra office was friendly, professional and seamless, my time was tight owing to a family funeral and a flight from Mackay to Brisbane and back again, pick up and drop off was great, office was efficient and car was very good, will use again, thanks East Coast.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeHyundai Accent
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
Prakash S.

Prakash S.Sydney, NSW

Worst place to rent your car from

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeSuzuki Grand Vitara
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi Prakash.
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your experience. Can you please email [email protected] with your rental agreement number so we can investigate this matter further.

Sallie & Andrew D.

Sallie & Andrew D.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Always great service

published

We have hired from East Coast for several years. We have always found them to be very easy to deal with, and there service is great. They also have exceptional value for money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeMitsubishi Outlander
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi Sallie and Andrew.
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it! Hope to see you in the near future.

WARNING this is not a 24hr car rental service -

published

left stranded at airport, next day able to rent car but at a higher rate. I was informed garage across from car rental opens at 5am this is not true had to drive into Launceston to top up petrol. Shifty lot. This also confirmed by locals

1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

worst car rental in australia

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
6 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
sofia
sofia
sofia
sofia

the technic that change the battery, told me the battery was as old as the car and it was never cheked. should i not believe this profesional? worst companny ever and this comment says much more about you

  • Verified customer

Excellent car rental from East Coast Car Rentals

published

We received an excellent car rental experience from East Coast Car Rentals, Cairns. We got a great price of only $24 a day for a 16-day rental, for a large car with a large boot which was almost new with only 17,000km on the clock. Airport pick up and drop off were included and were fast and seamless. Terms and conditions were clear, and collecting and dropping off the car were efficient and painless. The staff even helped us to make an international call to unblock our credit card which had been blocked the previous day just before we left New Zealand. The staff were all very helpful and did everything with a smile on their faces. Great job, as the Americans say.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeToyota Corolla
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a better vehicle
See all answers
Car Hire Services

Find out how East Coast Car Rentals compares to other Car Hire Services

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah

Sarah

  • 2 reviews

Terrible Service

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals
Blue mountain explorer

Blue mountain explorerFar North Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Car is dirty, Petrol only 1/2 full, customer service staff is not friendly and lack of energy.

published

Lack of energy and not quite friendly service.
The car is old, dirty and not the same as the picture.
The car was for holiday and it’s ok to drive.
Petrol was half full when we picked it up.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Booking Process
Vehicle Condition
Vehicle TypeToyota Corolla
Received Booked Vehicle No, I received a worse vehicle
See all answers
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Don’t bother

published

Don’t expect them to answer your calls or pick you up on time from the airport. Really poor service, 5km from Sydney airport. 3 staff, 2 customers and still couldn’t provide service

Customer Service
Value for Money
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
1 comment
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi Scott. Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you feel the communication wasn't pleasant during your rental. I'll be sure to share your feedback with our Sydney Airport branch.

Used East Coast Car Rentals when we went to Hobart Tasmania.

published

Great value for money for a family of eight wanting to have a good look around Tasmania. Would recommend and will use again when we go to Cairns. Thanks very much to East Coast Car Rentals you guys rock

Customer Service
Value for Money
Received Booked Vehicle Yes
Sydney Rooster

Sydney RoosterSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good!

published

Was looked after by Trish today in Sydney. She organised a car with low mileage, chipped the cost down slightly and I got her to clean a floor mat. She then replaced the car after I drove off and discovered the drivers' window wouldn't work. This was all done with a smile and a genuine care factor. Making the one way trek to Melbourne tomorrow and hope I don't need to return to downgrade this review once I reach my destination! Also had a pleasant experience with the shuttle bus driver who collected me from the airport. Didn't get her name, but she was friendly and professional.

2 comments
East Coast Car Rentals
Katelin B.East Coast Car Rentals

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it! I'll be sure to share your feedback with our Sydney Branch.

Sydney Rooster
Sydney Rooster
Page 2 of 280
See all East Coast Car Rentals reviews

Questions & Answers

Angela C

Angela Casked

How much does it cost to take out insurance when renting a car

1 answer
AMAN
AMAN

We paid for insurance with the booking which was with a 3rd party, East Coast Rentals then tried to sell insurance to my husband again. I have worked in Travel so understood that we had already paid for it. It appears the staff are on commission for insurance sold so don't really care if you pay it twice. We had to leave a credit card guarantee with East Coast Rentals which is released when the car is returned without damage.

Jason W.

Jason W.asked

Does anyone have experience with the Hobart branch? Our flight times are 12.50 pm Friday & 1.30 pm Monday so I'm hoping there is little traffic plus their location is very close to the airport. I'm mostly concerned as I'm taking some elderly family members on a short holiday and was aiming to use their shuttle for myself and to pick up / drop off the other passengers from the airport. Am a little concerned the age/condition of their people movers.

No answers
Nina P.

Nina P.asked

Hi - i would like to hire a car for the day from your Melbourne downtown office as we are staying at the Pegasus Aparthotel. Do you have after hours drop off or if we park at the hotel overnight can we drop off easily in the morning?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and East Coast Car Rentals representatives

Other Car Hire Services


ieatwords.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ieatwords.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.